The Seven Chakras: Gates to Freedom

Okay, what is a Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word literally meaning wheel or circle.

In a deeper sense, the word describes the whirlpools or vortices of energy located along the central axis of our bodies, in the “deep” or astral spine.

The chakras are a part of what might be called our spiritual anatomy.

Just as there is an anatomy to the physical body and maps to the physical world, so also there is a definite anatomy of our spiritual beings, as well as maps and guideposts to follow along the path of inner awakening.


If we understand this spiritual anatomy, then we will find it much easier to advance in our search for God.

For example, the point between the eyebrows (the sixth chakra) is that part of the body where the mind becomes focused automatically in ecstasy or just in concentration.

I am sure you would have noticed this:

Perhaps you’ve noticed the unconscious tendency people have to knit their brows, or frown, when engrossed in a project or making an important point in conversation.

What’s the bottom line?

Understanding this truth, and consciously putting our attention at that point, we discover that the mind actually does become focused there.

This is one of the central teachings of yoga.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *